Unboxing December 2014 Petit Vour!

This is my last month with Petit Vour,  which is an eco-friendly, cruelty-free beauty subscription and their  monthly subscription is $15.00.   I will explain at the end of the blog post why this is my last month

 Informational Card


What I received

 From left to right:  Meow Meow Tweet Deodorant Cream, Everyday Minerals Matte Blush, Trust Fund Beauty Nail Polish, Blissoma Smooth A+ Perfecting Serum

Meow Meow Tweet Deodorant Cream in Lavender   How cute is this company’s name!  I love it.  However, I do not use cream deodorants so this will go on my swap pile.  It is just a preference that I have ~ in fact, I prefer anti-antiperspirants, not deodorants and the only way I would just use a deodorant would have to be in a stick format.  I love their store, and will go back to purchase some of their body oils as I would use those as perfumes  Mini 1 oz Value $8.00

Product Description: Our completely natural underarm cream is a simple recipe that is safe, effective and will leave you smelling fresh all day. Organic coconut oil combined with baking soda is antibacterial with a sweet and pleasing aroma. Arrowroot powder and clay will help to keep you dry. To use, gently rub a dime-sized amount into each armpit with your fingertips (don’t push hard, those pits are sensitive!).

Ingredients: *virgin coconut oil, *jojoba oil, *shea butter, *arrowroot powder, baking soda (naturally mined), kaolin clay, lavender essential oil  *organic ingredient

Everyday Minerals Matte Blush in All Smiles    This is a peachy/coral matte blush that is the same color as my skin, only chalky looking.   Not even a sparkle to help with it showing up.   This is also the wrong time of the year to give a spring/summer color ~ a mauve rose would have been better this time of year.  I cannot find this color on Everyday Minerals website and I wonder if it is discontinued.  Again, swap heap.  Full Size $12.00

Product Description: Enhancing your natural beauty is our number one goal. Your cheeks will begin to glow without the use of any shimmer. This sheer powdery blush goes on completely matte and boosts your natural beauty effortlessly!  Contouring blush adds pops of color to your cheekbones. Everyday Minerals powders are brilliantly pigmented, velvety and luminous. Sprinkle blush powder into the lid of the jar. Use your Dome Blush brush to sweep the minerals along your cheekbones. Blend in an upward and outward motion. Blush also creates a radiant look when applied to your chin and forehead.

Ingredients: Mica (CI 77019), lauroyl lysine. May contain: titanium dioxide (CI 77891), iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499).

Trust Fund Beauty 5-Free Nail Lacquer in Money Buys Happiness  This is a very pretty opalescent baby pink and I am surprised that Trust Fund Beauty doesn’t describe it better than “baby pink”.  I dislike baby pink, however, and I am surprised that this was a color choice for the winter season.   They had a more vampy color (Just Talk to My Lawyer) and I was able to swap for that color.  But again, this color seems out of season to me.  Full Size 17 mL Value $16.00

Product Description: Our polish is non-toxic and “5 Free” which means free from: toluene, formaldehyde, lead, nickle, phthalates.   Vegan, Cruelty Free.

Ingredients: Butyl Acetate, Ethyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Adipic Acid/ Neopentyl Glycol/ Trimellitic Anhydride Copolymer, Isopropyl Alcohol, Stearalkonium Bentonite, Acrylates Copolymer, Styrene/ Acrylates, Copolymer, May Contain: Benzophenone-1,CI 77891, CI 19140, CI 15850, CI 15850, CI 15880, CI 77491,_CI 77499, CI 77510, CI 77163 Polyethylene Terephthalate, Aluminium Powder, Mica, Dibenzoate

Blissoma Skincare Smooth Solutions A+ Perfecting Serum  This is one that is designed for oily skin, so I was excited to see this, until I read the ingredients list.  Rose oil is one of the top ingredients  ~ “Natural acne products tend to be themed on tea tree oil, but we chose Rose as a theme for our recipe ”  ~ and they boast about the “rose” fragrance on their website.  Sigh.   I rather like tea tree oil and am not allergic to it, unlike rose. So, once again, the swap heap for this product.  I wish eco-friendly companies would realize that there are more ingredients out there than ROSE.    Deluxe Size .5 oz Value $13.00

Product Description:  20 active ingredients.  For acne, oily, rosacea and problem skin types.  100% natural, botanical recipe with 4% niacinamide, balancing herbs, and vitamin A.  Organic herbs freshly extracted at potent, healing concentrations.  Smooth perfecting serum performs at the top of the class with non-drying, anti-inflammatory herbs to bring troubled skin to a state of health and balance.

Ingredients: Infusion of Coriandrum sativum* (coriander), Achillea millefolium* (yarrow), Solidago virgaurea* (goldenrod), Foeniculum vulgare* (fennel), Rosa damascena* (roses), and Taraxacum officinale* (dandelion), Aloe barbadensis (aloe) Juice*, Cetearyl Alcohol and Cetearyl Glucoside, Hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel), Niacinamide, Leuconostoc/Radish Root Ferment Filtrate, Daucus carota (carrot) Juice*, Simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) Oil*, Extracts of Olea Europaea* (olive leaf), Gluconolactone, Lonicera japonica* (honeysuckle), Glycyrrhiza glabra* (licorice), and Calluna vulgaris* (heather flowers), Essential Oils of Citrus bergamia (bergamot) FCF, Boswellia carterii (frankincense), and Rosa damascena (rose otto), CO2 Extracts of Daucus carota (helio-carrot) and Matricaria chamomilla (german chamomile), Populus Tremuloides (aspen) Bark Extract, Xanthan Gum, Grain Alcohol* Essential oils in this product contain: citronellol**, geraniol**, linalool**, limonene**   *from Certified Organic Agriculture  **natural components of essential oils


I received a value of about $49.00 and I paid $15.00 for my box.   I will not be renewing my subscribing to Petit Vour because I feel that their boxes contain more products that I am allergic to and that is not going to change any time soon.   If they would have added items that didn’t have rose ingredients, I would have stayed with them, but when I looked at all of my boxes, only one item that I received am I truly thrilled with and that was last month’s body oil.  This month’s box ~ I will not use any of the products ~ from the rose in the serum, the baby pink color of nail polish, a matte peach/coral blush that was nude on my skin and the cream jar deodorant, which I do not like the method of application.  

It is too bad, as I think that Petit Vour does feature some great businesses, but the items that they receive from the vendors are not ones that I am remotely interested in.  I also am not happy with their review system, as I have reviewed several items and no PV points were awarded to my account (this is one of their perks for being a member).  I have emailed them and they told me it would show up soon, but it has been weeks and nothing.     This subscription is not a bad one, don’t get me wrong.  I just think that it is not for me, especially since I discovered Kloverbox and Sudsy Box.

Did you get the December’s Petit Vour box?  What was your favorite item? 


[ description in italics come from the product’s linked webpage ]

6 thoughts on “Unboxing December 2014 Petit Vour!

  1. I got the vampy red nail polish, too bad you got the baby pink one. I agree it does not sound/look like a wintery shade. It’s too bad the matte blush is too close to your skin tone. It does look like a summery color at first glance, but I have been wearing it for the past few days and it looks really nice despite being wintertime. I really really like it! Maybe you would prefer a different shade?

    I have used the Meow Meow Tweet deodorant cream for a while (bought a full-sized one independently about two years ago) and it works really well, if you are into all natural non-anti-perspirant deodorants and don’t mind applying with your fingers which does take some getting used to. Basically, this was a good box for me, but a terrible one for you, it’s hard to please everyone I guess! Anyhow, even though I already subscribe to this box and have very different preferences/needs as you, I still enjoy reading your reviews and advice, thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi MeliKat, thank you for your kind words! Yes, I feel that if the color choices were more in season, I might have stayed with Petit Vour. But this is probably the worst box ever I have gotten in any beauty subscription ~ I couldn’t use one product! It is too bad ~ they have some great vendors, but the products they get are ones that I cannot use or not interested in. I will still read other people’s reviews on Petit Vour because of the vendor items, but I just felt that, after several months, this sub was not for me. Have you checked out kloverbox.com? I’ve written a couple of reviews on them and they are my favorite sub right now🙂


  2. This might be a silly question, but I received the light pink and detest it -I’ve the vampy red. How were you able to swap colors? I’m a huge PV fan and this month was in my opinion quite a let down.


    1. Hi Lara Jane, it isn’t a silly question at all!! I belong to a couple of boards where swap/trades happen. makeuptalk.com is one board and the other is http://swap.mysubscriptionaddiction.com/ – you need to register first and wait a day or so before you can start listing your items that you want to swap with other members there. It doesn’t have to be like item – I picked up the vampy red color and the other person wanted something totally different that I had in my swap listings.


      1. Perfect, thank you! I am terrible with mailing and such but once I’ve launched my new site in the new year I really will get better with it all. I just hate that post office🙂

        Thanks again,
        Lara aka @VeganBeautyNut


        1. paypal!! If you have a scale and a printer (or access to one), you can use paypal to print off usps mailing labels – just log into paypal and then type in the url paypal.com/shipnow I tell you, it has saved me BIG bucks because this way, first class labels printed from paypal’s site (and it is linking up with the PO, so it is all kosher) get free delivery confirmation, whereas if you go to the PO, it is not free. I never have to wait in line anymore – just drop them off and I am out of there!


Leave a Reply

