Unboxing December 2014 Starlooks Starbox

December is always a 15 eyeshadow palette from Starlooks Starbox.   I really liked last year’s palette, so I wasn’t sure if I wanted to keep this one or not.  I was waiting until I saw it.  I waffled for about a day and decided that I did really like it a lot!  So, you will see swatches here!


We’re in a Holi-daze here at the Starlooks HQ – busting out December Starboxes in time for Christmas, with lipstick stained Egg Nog Lattes in hand and joy in our hearts!

 A festive red box for the holidays with a green metallic ribbon

Informational Card

And here it is!

image from http://www.vintagemermaid.com


This is the Mermaid (Ultimate Satin) palette (15es10).  It is a brand new configuration to Starlooks and I love the diversity of colors and I do think that Starlooks nailed the Mermaid theme quite well!  There are only two mattes in this collection ~ last row, the first two colors on the left.  The rest are all shimmery-satin shades.


I am actually following the order of the colors in the palette!  I am showing two shots for each row, the top shot is with flash and the bottom flash is in natural light ~ hence its out of focus look.  I swatched the colors over Urban Decay’s eyeshadow primer potion.

Top Row:  This is the lightest row and with the exception of the last color, I did have to swipe the color 2-3 times.  This row reminds me of the color of sandy beaches.

Middle Row:  This row is heavily pigmented except the first color ~ which I swiped the color 2-3 times.  All others were swiped once.   This reminds me of the colors at sunrise and sunset, along the seaside craggy cliffs.

Bottom Row:  All heavily pigmented.  One swipe to get these colors.  The first two colors are matte shades.  The colors of the ocean and a mermaid’s tail, plus the glittering black of the deep ocean depths, where no light is to be found.


I love the theme of the eyeshadow palette ~ great earthy tones with some beautiful teals and greens ~ just my style!    The total value of this box was $99.00 and I paid $17.68.  Now, I do quibble over the $99.00 “value”, but this palette to me is worth more than what I paid for it, obviously!

Did you subscribe to Starlooks Starbox?  If so, what did you think of this month’s box?

If you would like to subscribe to the Starlooks Starbox, I would love it if you used my referrer link – please click here  http://starbox.starlooks.com/subscribe?refer=58876

2 thoughts on “Unboxing December 2014 Starlooks Starbox

  1. Gorgeousssss! I’m bummed I didn’t snag this but I thought about it for awhile LOL. I love their tradition of sending out full sized palettes in December, although last years palette wasn’t as pigmented as I would have liked it to be, so I decided not to get this one. I’ve been on a neutrals kick (like the rest of the universe it seems lol) so I probably wouldn’t get as much use out of this as I’d like to think, but it’s still super pretty! Thanks for teh swatches and the review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

