November 2014: Products I really like a lot!


Why do I write these?  I swear, it seems that only I care!  But I do enjoy going over my new and not-so-new products and finding out which ones I liked the best during that month.   Where you can purchase the items ~ I usually embed the link with the name of product heading, which is above the main image.  For example, you can just click on the link below to find the Memebox Pony Palette

 Memebox Pony Palette

  • Top Row:  Easy Base, Easy Shadow, Shine Rosegold, Shine Gold
  • Bottom Row: Easy Charcoal, Easy Brown, Glam Espresso, Glam Cocoa

I purchased this in the beginning of November, and it has been my go-to eyeshadow palette this month.  I wrote up an extensive review here and my initial impressions have now turned into an official thumbs up for this product!  The shadows, with the exception of 2 of them, are very pigmented and this palette is a great mix of mattes and shimmer shades. They all are in the brown/neutral family, which may not get a lot of people excited, but they are very wearable for daily use and also special occasions.  The colors range from a cream to a deep charcoal to a light rose gold to a shimmery copper.  You can purchase this at Memebox for $18.00

  • Easy Base:  A light all over base color in cream – matte
  • Easy Shadow:  A light milk chocolate color, not that pigmented – matte
  • Shine Rosegold: A sparkly light rose gold, not that pigmented – shimmer
  • Shine Gold:  A sparkly copper color – shimmer
  • Easy Charcoal: A deep dark grey brown – matte
  • Easy Brown: A medium cocoa brown – matte
  • Glam Espresso: A shimmer cocoa brown with pink – shimmer
  • Glam Cocoa::  A deep shimmer red brown -shimmer


Hope Girl Gel Eyeliner in Brown

I received this eyeliner in my Just Gellin’ Memebox and yes, it is a Hope Girl product and yes, it made my favorite things list in November.  I am really impressed by this pot gel eyeliner.  It is a deep dark bittersweet chocolate brown and it glides on smoothly with the brush that was included with the eyeliner.  The eyeliner sets pretty quickly, and does not smudge or budge until I remove it with makeup remover.  I find this product to be as good as Bobbi Brown, Tarte and MAC’s versions of gel eyeliner-in-a-pot.   It comes in a nice heavy frosted glass jar with a cute leopard print design on the lid.  Retails for $14.33




I had received a HairFood by Clairol Mask treatment in my Influster Moda VoxBox, which was totally unsuitable for my hair type.   BUT I also got a coupon to purchase other items from their line, which I promptly purchased the following items at Target


Strawberry Ginger Root Cleansing Shampoo

I wash my hair daily as I have oily hair and I also use several products in my hair, to texturize, volumize and keep it in place ~ I am not afraid of hairspray!  However, even with daily cleansing, I do need a clarifying hair treatment product to remove all of the product buildup.   This shampoo smells amazing ~ A wonderful berry with a hint of ginger ~ and it cleans nicely without stripping my hair.   I use this shampoo once a week, because it does contain sulfates and I have found that my hair is easier to style because all of the build up is gone.  You can purchase this at Target for $9.99

The buzz: The Hair Food Strawberry Ginger Root Cleansing Shampoo is like detox for dull hair.

The details: When product build-up leaves your hair heavy or dull, it’s time to get at the root of the problem. The Hair Food Strawberry Ginger Root Cleansing Shampoo gives hair a deep cleansing without stripping away moisture. This Target-exclusive shampoo is inspired by super foods and is silicone, paraben and mineral oil free. Swap it in for your regular shampoo once or twice a month. Hair looks instantly healthier and shinier once the dulling build-up is removed. We also love the energizing strawberry and ginger fragrance that gives your shower a spa-like feel.

The pro tip: Give hair an extra DIY boost of shine by mixing together ½ cup of apple cider vinegar with 2 cups of water, then pour over your locks after shampooing. Let the mixture sit while you shave your legs, then rinse and skip your conditioner.

Ingredients: water, sodium lauryl sulfate, sodium laureth sulfate, cocamidopropyl betaine, fragrance, sodium citrate, sodium xylenesulfonate, sodium chloride, citric acid, sodium benzoate, hydroxypropyl methycellulose, tetrasodium EDTA, trisodium ethylenediamine disuccinate, fragaria ananassa (strawberry) fruit extract, citrus aurantium dulcis (orange) flower extract, camellia sinensis leaf extract, methychloroisothizaolinone, methylisothiazolinone, red 33, yellow 5


image from

Thickening Hair Treatment

As I mentioned above, I use a ton of products on my hair ~ from mousse to salt sprays to hairsprays (and I’ve left a couple out!)  It is the curse of having flat, straight, fine and oily hair that doesn’t look good pin-straight, flat and lifeless.  I like using Bumble & Bumble Thickening Spray, but I am also open to trying new products as well.  I like to mix up my hair products so my hair doesn’t get “used” to them.  I know, probably all physiological, but it seems to me that if I use a product too long in a row, it doesn’t seem to work as well.

I use this product when I am blow drying my hair ~ just before my hair is completely dry, I spritz a few pumps of this product into my hair and then finish drying my hair.   It does seem to thicken my hair and is very similar to Bumble & Bumble Thickening Spray, only this is a pump action with a targeted area and B&B is more of a fine mist with a wide spread.  You can purchase this at Target for $11.99

Product Description: Hair Food Thickening is inspired by energetic and refreshing ingredients for visibly thicker hair*. (*vs. non-conditioning shampoo)   A fragrant blend of energizing kiwi and zesty citrus fruits.  This unique Hair Food formula penetrates each strand to strengthen hairs resilience against breakage while also leaving it more manageable.  For luxurious and light hair that is not weighed down. Paraben Free – Mineral Oil Free –  No Preservatives. 

Ingredients: alcohol denat., water, niacinamide, PEG/PPG-20/23 dimethicone, caffeine, acrylates/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crossolymer, menthol, panthenol, fragrance, triethanolamine


image from



Blotting Papers

Tatcha Aburatorigami Japanese Beauty Papers, boscia Blotting Linens, Cosmos Blotting Tissues

Blotting papers….I love ’em.  I use them in the summer time quite a bit ~ you just take out one of these tissues and gently press against nose, forehead, chin ~ anywhere there is excess oil.   I also use them in the morning when I am putting on my skincare.   Some days, I cannot wait for all of my skin care products to absorb or I used too much and my skin cannot absorb anymore.   I cannot apply any makeup at this point, because it will just slide off my face,   I just take my blotting tissue and just press against my face, absorbing up the excess moisturizer.   My face is then ready for my foundation now.    Do you use blotting tissues?  What other uses have you found for them?



Fall Lip colors

Innisfree Color Glow Lipstick #5, L’Oreal 502 L’Oreal 103, Cynthia Rowley Creamy Lip Stain Dahlia

Innisfree Color Glow Lipstick in Plum Burgundy #5   This is a lip color that I use when I want a brighter plum lip.  It is a lovely, smooth and creamy plum, and it is supposed to be a matte lipstick, but I find it is more of a satin lipstick.  It has Camellia Oil to help moisturize your lips.  This is extremely pigmented, goes on smoothly and has a great wear time, about 3 hours.  It does leave a slight stain behind on your lips as well.    The Color Glow line has a range of colors, which you can find here.   Retail $16.00

L’Oreal Plum Adagio (502)  Color Riche Extraordinaire Liquid Lipstick It’s a lipstick and lip gloss!  It is not really a liquid lipstick, imho, because I think it has a more jelly-like finish than a liquid lipstick.  This deep vampy plum gloss-lipstick hybrid is slightly shimmery.   It is super shiny and leaves my lips looking smooth and slick.   Retail $9.99


Cynthia Rowley Creamy Lip Stain Dahlia, L’Oreal Blushing Harmony (103), L’Oreal Plum Adagio (502), Innisfree  Color Glow Lipstick Plum Burgundy #5


Hydrating Treatments

The next two items are deep intensive hydrating treatments that I use as part of my night time routine.

SkinFood Cacao Hand Balm

I received this in my Chocolate Mania Memebox and I really enjoy the deep hydrating qualities of this uber rich cocoa hand cream.  It has a nice dessert scent to it, not really full blown chocolate, but a softer milky cocoa scent.    I have read that this hand cream will stain people’s hands, but it hasn’t with me.  I have a light-medium tone, so perhaps that is why I do not notice any discoloration.  Retails for about $10.00

Active ingredient: GLYCERIN 40%

Inactive ingredients: Water, Cetearyl alcohol, Isopropyl Myristate, Cocoa butter, Bees Wax, Stearic Acid, Polymethyl silsesquioxane, Mineral Oil, Shea Butter, Glyceryl Stearate , Polysorbate 60, Methyl Paraben, Tocopheryl Acetate, Propyl Paraben, Triethanolamine, Cocoa powder, Phenoxyethanol, Benzophenone-3, Perfume

 image from


Innisfree Canola Honey Lip Balm

I purchased this lip balm off eBay and I am sad to see that it is currently discontinued.  Innisfree also makes a stick lip balm that is similar, so if you are interested in this product, it would be the stick in original formula    It is make with the honey from Canola (also known as Rapeseed and Yuchekurupakku) blossoms.   It is a very thick, deeply hydrating lip balm with a high gloss and shine.   It can be used for daytime as well, but I love it as a nighttime lip balm.   It does smell and taste like honey to me.  

The stick lip balm will become my night treatment once my tube is gone ~ they both have the same deep nourishing properties.   The stick lip balm has 3 different varieties as well:  Smooth Care (Jeju canola honey extract, canola seed oil, shea butter, murumuru butter), Deep Moisture (sweet almond oil, Jeju canola honey extract, canola seed oil, jojoba oil) and Original formula (Jeju canola honey extract, canola seed oil, mango seed butter). If you can find it on eBay, it can retail anywhere from $7.00 to $10.00

image from


For those interested in the Lip Balm Stick, here is some information on that product

Ingredients for the Innisfree Canola Oil Lip Balm Original stick: Petrolatum,Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate, Diisostearyl Malate, Mineral Oil, Jojoba Esters, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Meadowfoam Delta-Lactone, Microcrystalline Wax, Polyethylene, Phytostearyl Hydroxystearate, Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides, Candelilla Wax, Mango Seed Butter, Ceresin, Sweet Almond Water, Tocopheryl Acetate, Honey Extract, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Peel Extract, Orchid Extract, Green Tea Extract, Camellia, Japonica Leaf Extract, Opuntia Coccinellifera Fruit Extract, Trihydroxystearin, Glyceryl Caprylate, Caprylyl Glycol, Aluminum Hydroxide, Yellow 4, Yellow 5, Fragrance

Benenet Herb Bee AC  Serum &  Benton Snail Bee Essence

I have included both of these products as I do know that the Benton product is controversial.  I feel that the Benenet Herb & Bee AC Control Serum is an good substitute for the Benton Snail Bee Essence, however, it is much more difficult to find the Benenet product.

Benenet Herb & Bee AC Control Serum

I received this product in my Free From Oil & Troubles 4 Memebox and I think it is an amazing serum!   It has helped with my acne and also control the oiliness of my skin.   Alas, due to the fact that I cannot find it anywhere, when I am done with this serum, it is gone, baby, gone…..I hope Memebox will carry it in their store.  Retail Value $38.00

Product Description: Bee-sting venom, extract of eucalyptus leaves, extract of sophora root, and extract of witch hazel help take care of skin troubles. Grapefruit extract effectively controls sebum, helps with skin arrangement and skin moisturizing, and the EGF component will also help take care of skin.


  • Bee Venom: Bee venom is a biophylaxis substance made for the bees’ own defense. It consists of peptide, enzymes and amine. The agricultural development office was the first in the world to confirm that bee-sting venom supports the prevention and management of skin troubles. -effect of bee-sting venom ; strong anti-bacterial power, anti-inflammation, skin regeneration
  • 5 extracts from herbs (NATURO AMC): It is the complex of herbal substances consisting of grapefruit, eucalyptus, clove flower, and extract of sophora root. It aids in the treatment of skin trouble and functions as a natural preservative, helping the skin maintain its healthy look.
  • Natural, low pungent prescription: With no pigments, no artificial substances, no mineral oils, it can take care of skin without irritating.
  • Contains EGF:  Peptide, whose structure is quite similar to the skin, contains a lot of protein to care for skin in a resilient and healthy way.

image from



Benton Snail Bee Essence

I know that this is a controversial product, due to one contaminated batch (that was recalled) in March 2014 that caused skin damage to at least two beauty bloggers and how Benton handled that issue.  However, I was unaware of the Benton issue when I tried this product, otherwise I may not have bothered with it.  I have to say, this is my go-to HG Essence product.     It is made with bee venom and snail slime (90%) extract and it helps clear up my acne and skin beautifully.    I have been using this for 2 months now and my “troubles” ~ Korean-speak for zits ~ are rare, small and heal quickly since I’ve been using this product.   I hope with continued usage, it will help fade my sun spots and acne scars on my face.    It is a thick gel that you should not keep in a hot area ~ refrigerate it ~ and use within 6 months after opening it.   As with any product I feature here, these are just my favorites and they work well for me.   They might not work well for you and I welcome all reasonable comments about your experience with these products.  Retail Value $17.00

Product Description: This product contains 90% snail extract and bee venom instead of water. Powerful ingredients such as snail mucin and bee venom help to heal acne, fade acne scars, brighten skin tone, and maintain hydration throughout the day. Snacil mucin supports natural cell regeneration and replenishes moisture to increase firmness, and bee venom has natural anti-inflammatory, anti-bacterial, and anti-viral properties. The gel-like essence is also fragrance free! Best recommended for those with sensitive and troubled skin.

How To Use: After cleansing face and applying toner, apply essence. Follow with serum, moisturizer, night cream.

Ingredients:  Snail Secretion Filtrate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Glycerin, Arbutin, Human Ogliopeptide-1, Bee Venom, Plantago Asiatica Extract, Laminana Digita Extract, Dios Pyros Kaki Leaf Extract, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Ulmus Campestris (Elm) Extract, Bacilus Ferment, Azelaic Acid, Althaea Rosea Flower Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Butylene Glycol, Beta-Glucan, Betaine, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Cross Polymer, Adenosine, Panthenol, Allantoin, Zanthoxylum Piperitum Fruit Extract, Usnea Barbata (Lichen) Extract, Pulsatilla Koreana Extract, Arginine


image from

I totally adore this product by Mizon.    I received it originally in a Beauteque bag but I traded it away as I wasn’t sure how to incorporate it into my skin care regime.     I then received it in Memebox Global 16 and decided to keep it this time, as a wonderful K-Beauty blogger, Veritazy at Pulchritudinous, wrote a great article on how she uses it and I am excited to try out her suggestion ~ she mixes this with her foundation/BB cream.   This is a clear gel that is lightweight, doesn’t have a noticeable scent and absorbs quickly into my skin.  I use it daily and mix it in with Jouer Matte Tint and then apply to my face.   I do not know if this alone or the combination of my other skin products I currently use is contributing to this, but I find I am not breaking out in acne as much.  I do use a variety of products and change them up quite a bit, thanks to all of my Memebox items, but some products are pretty consistent and this is one of them. sells this for under $8.00, whereas I’ve seen it as high as $20.00 elsewhere.    Full Size 45 mL   Value $24.00 but you can find it less elsewhere.

Product Description:  Mizon Snail Recovery Gel Cream is a hard-to-find cult favorite from Korea. The multi-tasking, lightweight moisturizer is formulated with 74% snail extract, the cruelty free, all-natural way to get soft, rejuvenated skin. Fast-absorbing gel moisturizer sinks in quickly for hydrated, clear skin with improved vitality. Non-greasy, alcohol-free formula. Perfect for taking with you in your bag for whenever you need it!  Paraben free.  No artificial color or scent

Ingredients: Snail Secretion Filtrate, Butylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Bis-PEG-18 Methyl Ether, Dimethylsilane, Polysorbate2-, Sodium Hyaluronate, Carbomer, Glycosyl Trehalose, Hydrogenated Starch Hydolsyate, Triethanolamine, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Dimethicone, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Caprylyl Glyocol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Polyacrylate, Centella Asiatica Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Camellias Sinensis Leaf Extract, Nelumbo Nucifera Flower Extract, Betula Platylphylla Japonica Juice, Tropolone, Copper Tripeptide-1, Allantoin, Panthenol, Olea Europaea (olive) Fruit Oil, Helianthus Annuus (sunflower) Seed Oil, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Adenosine, Disodium EDTA

Key Ingredients:  snail extract 74%, adenosine, peptide, hyaluronic acid, birch extract, olive oil, sunflower seed oil, vitamin 5, allantoin, centalla, machihyun, green tea, water lily

   image from

Left:  top: Mizon gel-cream bottom: Jouer Matte Tint in Nude.  Right:  Mizon & Jouer mixed together

 image from from

I hoped you enjoyed reading about my favorite products in this November edition.   Let me know if you have tried them and what you think about these products or comment on your own favorite recent finds!

[ descriptions in italics are from the linked product’s website ]



3 thoughts on “November 2014: Products I really like a lot!

  1. We’ve got very similar favorites! I LOVE the Herb and Bee serum! It’s been a fantastic tool to get rid of some of the stubborn acne I have. Also your fall lip colors are to DIE for. I have to check some of those out for myself. I think I saw the innisfree ones on the beauteque site, and they ahve a 40% off sale going on for their lip products!

    I always read these posts, so I hope you keep making them!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

