Unboxing November 2014 BirchBox

November was another “pick a sample” month, where Birchbox allows you to pick one sample of your choice from a list of a few choices.  I went with the Royal Apothic Cuppa Cuppa Firming Tea Treatment Mask.  I love masks, my face needs firming and tea is fantastic.

This month’s theme looks to be “Giving”

This month isn’t just about pumpkin pie and gifting; it’s also about giving back. In that spirit, we’ve teamed up with (RED) to raise money and awareness for the fight against AIDS—and we want your help! We’ll donate $1 to fight AIDS with (RED) every time you share a photo of the facts on your (RED) Birchbox on Twitter or Instagram, using the#shaRED hashtag. Over on the magazine, we’ll show you creative ways to give back, share our favorite charitable beauty brands, explain why Friendsgiving is the best unofficial holiday ever, and so much more.


My Box Revealed!


Informational Card

Cynthia Rowley Beauty Creamy Lip Stain in Dahlia  I have received Cynthia Rowley Lip Stains in the past, but they were either in a bright hot red or a washed out pink.  This is perfect.  Dahlia is a wonderful plum berry color, not bright or vampy.  It looks really dark in the tube, but it can be sheered out nicely or built up.   I am really pleased with this color and the lip stain, which is very creamy and does leave a faint stain behind after the color has been rubbed off.   This is a nice mini sized sample that will get a lot of uses.  This lip stain is vegan, cruelty-free and paraben-free.  Mini Size 2.25 g Value $9.29

With Flash:  Cynthia Rowley Creamy Lip Stain in Dahlia



Klorane Floral Water Make-up Remover with Soothing Cornflower  I am a HUGE fan of Klorane products ~ I love their dry shampoos – would love to try out more of the different types of dry shampoos ~ and their Klorane shampoo with Flax Fiber, so I am thrilled to try out another item in their line of products.   This product is not oily or greasy and has no noticeable scent.  It does the job nicely on removing eye makeup.  Mini Size 25 mL Value $2.38

Product Description: The key ingredient, cornflower, is not only a superstar at removing tough eye makeup, but also at soothing tired eyes by reducing puffiness. Klorane intentionally keeps their ingredient lists short to ensure the most gentle and effective formulas. On top of that, the formula is hypoallergenic and paraben-free.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua). Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum). Butylene Glycol. Centaurea Cyanus Flower Water. Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil. Dimethicone. PEG -40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil. Tribehenin PEG-20 Esters. Benzoic Acid. Bisabolol. Carbomber. Phenethyl Alcohol. Poloxamer 188. Triethanolamine. Xanthan Gum


Not Soap, Radio Body Wash in Awash in a Field of Four-Leaf Clover  I have been reading a lot of buzz around this company’s products and the name makes me smile.  I have NO idea what it means, but it is a nice choice of word salad.   I received the version that was “greeny”, which is make from four-leaf clover extracts and green tea extracts.  This has a nice herbally scent and it is a good size for a few washes :)   Deluxe Size 1.5 oz  Value $1.76

Product Description: “Awash in a Field of Four-Leaf Clover” is a fresh fragrance with actual four-leaf clover extract from Ireland and green tea to tone and calm

I don’t think the ingredients are correct on this bottle.  I took what was printed on the bottle, but it seems that there is no mention of tea (Camellia Sinensis) or Clover extracts.  But I am posting the ingredient list here anyway.

Ingredients: Water, Sodium (C14-16) Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Glycerin, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Panthenol (Vitamin B-5), Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Extract (and) Gentiana Lutea (Gentian) Extract (and) Equisetum Hiemale (Horsetail) Extract (and) Hypericum Perforatum (St. John’s Wort) Extract (and) Salvia Officinalis (Sage) Extract, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance, Citric Acid,  FD&C Red #33, FD&C Yellow #5, FD&C Blue #1.


Royal Apothic Cuppa Cuppa Firming Tea Treatment Mask  This was my PYS (pick your sample) choice and it is a clay mask that is infused with exotic tea extracts.  I will try this out tomorrow morning and see how it works.  I am pretty jazzed over this sample.  This is one expensive treatment ~ I received one tube and Birchbox sells this in a 6 tube-pack for $58.00, which is only 6 treatments.   One tube/treatment .33 oz Value $9.67

Product Description: This clay-based formula is packed with antioxidant-rich black, green, and white teas, as well as other beneficial botanical extracts including acai, pomegranate, coffee, and goji berry. It firms, reduces dark spots, helps skin retain moisture, and gently exfoliates to reveal a refreshed, luminous complexion.

How To Use: Apply the entire contents of one tube to face, neck, and chest, avoiding eye area. Wait 8 minutes, then wet fingers and gently massage in a circular motion. Rinse with warm water and pat dry.

Ingredients: Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea, White Tea, Black Tea) Leaf Extract, Water (Aqua), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Kaolin, Montmorillonite, Cetearyl Olivate, Sorbitan Olivate, Caprylyl Caprilate/Caprate,Propa- nediol, Glycerin, GlycerylStearete/ PEG-100, Cetylpalmitate,Sorbitan Palmitate, Lauryl Olivate, Fragrance, Maltodextrin, Phyllanthus Emblica Fruit Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Tetrahydrocurcuminoids, Ferulic Acid, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizinate, Lysolecithin, Sclerotium, Pullulan Gum, Phenoxyethanol,Ehtylhexylglycerin, Pumice, Butylene Glycol, Methyl disopropylpropionamid, Goji (Lycium Barbarum), Coffee Seed (Coffea Arabica), Acai(Euterpe Oleracea), Noni (Morinda Citrifolia), Pomegranate (Punica Granatum), Mangosteen (Garcinia Mangostana), Olea Europaea (Olive) Leaf Extract, Lonicera Japonica (Honeysuckle) Flower Extract, Disodium EDTA


Supergoop!® Daily Correct CC Cream ​SPF 35+  And with any bright sunny day, there is a rainy cloud somewhere lurking.  I loathe Supergoop!    I’ve had this sample before and got rid of it pronto.  Not much else I can say about a product line I cannot stand. Mini Size 3 mL Value $2.04

Product Description: Like its Supergoop!® sunscreen counterparts, this CC cream uses 100% natural ingredients and antioxidants to triple protect against UVA, UVB and infrared-A rays. Light-diffusing mica minerals soften the appearance of pores and wrinkles for a fresh, flawless complexion.

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide (2%), Zinc Oxide (20%)

Inactive Ingredients: Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Propanediol, Dimethicone, Iron Oxides, Lauryl PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Sodium Chloride, Mica, Dimethicone/PEG-10/15 Crosspolymer, Titanium Dioxide, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Chondrus Crispus Extract, Tetrasodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Chondrus Crispus Extract, Methylisothiazolinone, Tin Oxide, Sodium Hyaluronate


Chuao Chocolatier Assorted ChocoPod  in Honeycomb My local grocery store carries Chuao Chocolates, so I am very familiar with their line of goodies.  The Honeycomb flavor is a nice dark chocolate with crispy bits of caramelized honey.  Each pod is 50-60 calories each ~ but who are we kidding here?  One pod, smod.   I have pods, I will eat them all!!  Yummy, Yummy.  One pod Value $1.24

This month’s box IS SO MUCH better than last month!  No perfume or black eyeliner :D  Despite the Supergoop, I am really happy with my box this month.  I am eager to try out the Cuppa Cuppa mask, body wash and the lip stain is just the perfect fall color!   I paid $10.00 for my box and received a value of $26.38   I don’t want to jinx my luck with Birchbox, but it seems that they have radically changed in the last year and half – no foils or anything.  This isn’t the foil subscription box anymore, it seems.   Really nice sized samples too.

Do you subscribe to Birchbox?  What did you get this month and what was your favorite item?

If you want to subscribe to Birchbox, I would love it if you used my referral link   https://www.birchbox.com/invite/biancardi

[ descriptions in italics from birchbox.com and product websites ]

3 thoughts on “Unboxing November 2014 BirchBox

    1. Yes, BB has gotten so much better. I left back in 9/2013 and came back in May/June of this year when I saw that the boxes were looking better. Plus, I totally revamped my profile. I am so sad to see Blush Mystery go downhill like that – I had several boxes from them and they were a really good.


      1. I cancelled BB a few months ago after getting super into Memebox because I just wasn’t feeling it. Of course as soon as I did it started getting better each month. Story of my life! HaHa With regard to Blush, I absolutely LOVED my first couple months with them but it’s seriously gone downhill since. This month we actually received a full size hair product that came just a few months ago and I didn’t think was really that good first go around and you know I love my hair products!🙂


Leave a Reply

