Unboxing October 2014 Starlooks Starbox

Starlooks didn’t give us much of a sneak peak, as a complete reveal with youtuber Rachel Weiland  “Glow of Grace” video telling us what we were getting ~ which is an eyebrow kit.  I did a preview of it with the October 2014 Looksbook here

The October theme is “Back to Nature”

For you it may be the colder temperatures creeping in, or the change in the leaves on the trees. Here, in SoCal at the Starlooks Headquarters, we know it’s fall when we get your hands on our first Pumpkin Spice Latte and that perfect shade of cool-toned lipstick.

The seasons seem to change as fast as our moods, but luckily we can take every new wave of weather as a chance to express our personal styles. As soon as we hear even a whisper “Fall” or “Autumn” we start trading our espadrilles for tall boots, our sundresses for plaid button-ups and leggings, and of course our baby pink lip gloss for a deep red, purple, or mauve lipstick. But, ok…sometimes we do all of this a little too hastily. So, this month, we’ve decided to remind you that sometimes the transition doesn’t need to be extreme. Let’s get back to nature and transition from our flirty summer shimmer to deeper autumn neutrals, with ease.

I actually am very excited about this, as I guess I have been out of the loop for many moons when it comes to eyebrows!  I have naturally dark eyebrows and they are not sparse, but I would like to fill them out a bit.  I have tried to use some products for eyebrows, but have failed.   Let’s see the actual goods, shall we?


This is what I received


This is a nice Brow Kit!  I received the shade BK-2.   This kit contains, going from the top and clockwise

  • Wax to hold the brown design in place
  • Cream Highlighter
  • Darkest brown powder
  • Medium brown powder
  • Tools
    • Slanted applicator brush
    • Four different stencils to help shape my brows
    • PRO tweezers

Starlooks sells these in four different shades, where BK-1 is the deepest darkest colors, BK-2 is the medium-dark brown, BK-3 is a light brown (maybe redheads?)  and BK-4 looks to be for blonds.  Starlooks customer service is very quick to respond, so if you need help picking out your shade, just use their contact form on their website and ask for swatches!  They will send you pictures of the actual product swatched and can help you pick out the correct shade for your eyebrow color.

On the back of the kit, there are instructions

The shades are perfect for my own eyebrow color as I do have dark brown eyebrows.   I am not sure if these will work as eyeshadows, as the card states, as they aren’t that pigmented for an eyeshadow ~ at least for me.   My idea of neutral and natural is probably too dramatic for most women😉   I am really thrilled to try these out and will experiment this weekend, as I am too much of a coward to do a cold run for work!! haha  I am looking forward to the tutorials that Rachel Weiland will create and I will post them here in this blog once she uploads them, as well as the October Starblast.


Swatches with flash, left to right: cream highlighter, dark brown, medium brown

The total value of this box was $31.00 and I paid $17.68.    This was the least expensive box I have received from Starlooks ~ for some reason I thought they would have added another product, as when I subscribed, the value of the item was supposed to be at least $35.00.  I do hope this is not a trend to come ~ I am not that upset about it this time round, because the palette does come with a brush and tweezers. 

Did you subscribe to Starlooks Starbox?  If so, what did you think of this month’s box?


If you would like to subscribe to the Starlooks Starbox, I would love it if you used my referrer link – please click here  http://starbox.starlooks.com/subscribe?refer=58876

Leave a Reply

