Unboxing October 2014 Gourmet Body Treats

Gourmet Body Treats is an eco-friendly beauty store.  They specialize in vegan, cruelty free, GMO free and gluten free beauty products, plus they are free-trade.  This is my last box with them, as I have been a bit disappointed in the selections that they have given over the course of the last 4 months.  October’s box was a bit better, but personally, I do not feel this is a good subscription for me.   For whatever reason, this box came very late and I had to ask when my box would be shipped out.  It sat somewhere for 7 days after the label was created before it starting moving.  That delay could explain why one product in my box was a hot melted mess.

The box revealed!!  The box was not nicely packaged as it was in the past, with the extra filler to protect the items. It was just tossed into the box.    I am not sure if Gourmet Body Treats read my last review and decided I was a problem customer! haha


Starting from the lower left and going clockwise:

Black Tea Detox Mask  This is a full sized item, believe it or not!! It looks like it is 2 oz.   The detox mask is their featured item in the box and I was pretty excited to see this, as I do have oily skin.  However, when I used it last night, I could not leave it on for 5-10 minutes as my face started to burn.  I don’t have particularly sensitive skin at all, but this mask really hurt and made my face turn red.  I ran the ingredients thru cosDNA.com to see what was up with this but I didn’t see anything out of the ordinary.  I don’t think it is the salt, because  I have a SkinFood Honey Red Orange mask that has salt in it.  Perhaps it is just the combination of all of these things.   I am going to just try it on my nose area and see if that burns.  Perhaps putting it all over as a facial mask was the issue.  Full Size 2 oz Value $39.00

Our Black Tea mask was created to help reduce breakouts, reduce irritation and shrink pores.    Activated Charcoal derived from coconuts is added to purify and exfoliate skin while providing oxygen for a healthy glow and clearing out blackheads.  Apply in a circular motion, let dry 5-10 minutes and then rinse off.

Ingredients: Organic Black Tea, Activated Coconut Shell Charcoal, Pineapple Juice, Dead Sea Salt, Dead Sea Clay, Aspen Bark Extract, Organic Coffee Oil, Organic Sunflower Oil, Annatto Extract, Calendula Flower Extract, Lemon Peel Extract, Thyme Extract.

Whipped Mousse Blush   This is the item that was a melted mess.  When I opened this up initially, the contents were so liquidy that I spilled some of it all over my hands.  It is supposed to be a mousse, not a liquid.  So, I did put this in the refrigerator to “firm” up.  It did firm up, but the oil floated to the top and when I swatched it, it was not a cream to powder.  It was still an oil liquid that stayed oily on my skin.  Perhaps I need to mix it first?  I love the color ~ it is a sheer glowing coral ~ and I am determined to use this!!   Deluxe Sample Size Value $10.00

This Whipped Mousse Blush is a cream-to-powder color that provides a sheer, glowing finish that’s never greasy or chalky. Apply over freshly moisturized skin or over foundation for gorgeous color that lasts all day and is nearly impossible to overdo. Use our whipped mousse blush whenever you want a subtle glow. Matte appearance..

Ingredients: Butyrospermum parkii (Organic Shea butter), Copernicia Cerifera (Organic Carnauba) Wax, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Oil, Iron Oxide, Mica, Zinc Oxide, Cocos Nucifera (Organic Coconut) Oil , Maranta Arundinacea Root (Organic Arrowroot), Zea Mays (Organic Corn) Starch, Kaolin, Cetyl Alcohol, Citrus Grandis (Grapefruit) Seed Extract

Argan Hair Serum   I am fine that this is a sample size.  I do not use hair oils but I have a friend that does ~ I hope she will like getting this :)     Sample Size Retail $2.00

 Ingredients:  Organic Argan Oil, Quinoa Protein, Olive Extract, Organic Sage Extract, Organic Broccoli Oil, Edelweiss Extract, Organic Jojoba Oil, Ginseng Extract, Raspberry Extract, Chamomile Extract

Pumpkin Spice Exfoliator  Oh, nice!!   I tried this out in the shower this morning and it is a gentle exfoliator with little granules of pumice and bamboo powder.   This doesn’t have pumpkin in it, but it is the SPICE that goes into pumpkin pies, like cinnamon and vanilla :)   It does smell lightly of cinnamon.   I wish this was a full size product as I love it and they do not offer it on their website.   Deluxe Size 1 oz Retail $8.00

2 in 1 formula gently removes dead skin cells and lightly hydrates skin.  Can be used on your entire body including hands and feet.  Rinses off easily with no residue.

Ingredients:  Organic Coconut Oil, Witch Hazel Hydrosol, Organic Olive Oil, Organic Sunflower Oil, Bamboo Powder, Pumic Powder, Organic Lemon EO, Organic Lime EO, Cinnamon EO, Vanilla EO.

Gourmet Lip Gloss  I think this is in the color Merlot or Ruby ~ it is a beautiful wine-y color.  It wasn’t labeled so I do not know the color.  I will probably purchase both of those colors because I do not know what color this is.  It is smooth and slightly sheer with a great pigment.  Sample Size Retail $2.00 

Our gourmet lip gloss  is a 2 in 1 product that is not only a lip gloss but also doubles as an intense lip treatment. Our Gourmet Lip Gloss Keeps lips soft all day while repairing damage around lips. Added C0Q10 hydrates and repairs the delicate skin around the lips. The gourmet lip gloss is high shine, long lasting and ultra moisturizing.  Sheer to matte color lasts for  hours while the added moisturizers keep your lips soft and supple all day, even after the color is gone.

Ingredients: Organic Pomegranate oil, Organic Carnauba Wax, COQ10, Mica, Organic Castor oil, Organic Sunflower oil.



With Flash:  Top Gourmet Lip Gloss color unknown;  Bottom Whipped Mousse Blush in Coral

This box was so much better than last month’s box.   The two  makeup items are just gorgeous colors, although I still feel that the descriptions on some of their products are incorrect ~ that is not a mousse blush and it is not a cream to powder blush.  At least the item I received was not.  However, I will attempt to use it.  The lip gloss is the perfect fall color, if I knew what color it was!!  The Detox Mask ~ I am going to try it out again, but spot targeting this time and see if it still burns.  The non-pumpkin pumpkin exfoliator was the highlight of the box and I hope they offer it soon on their website.

Did you get Gourmet Body Treats this month?  What was your impression and which is your favorite product?

[ descriptions in italics from http://gourmetbodytreats.com ]


Leave a Reply

