DIY Project: Peppermint Aloe-Vera Facial Spray Mist

I love all things peppermint and since I have oily skin, I am always trying to find products that incorporate peppermint and to help control my oiliness.    I found this DIY for a Peppermint Facial Spray Mist from blogger Crunchy Betty ~ ~ and decided to give it a try!

She does warn about using an aloe vera gel that does not contain the following ingredients:

  • Carrageenan
  • Parabens
  • Retinyl Palmitate
  • Fragrance oils
  • Polysorbate 20

I have a huge tub of Aloe Vera gel ~ 98% natural ~ from Memebox and I checked out the ingredients.  It was free of the above items.   If you do not have an Aloe Vera gel that is free from those ingredients, Crunchy Betty has recommended the following brands  ~ Aubrey Organics Aloe Vera Gel, Mountain Rose Herbs , Aloe Farms.

I purchased my Peppermint Essential Oils from  and for this recipe, I used the Peppermint Supreme Essential Oil ~ which has “strong minty notes with herbaceous warm undertones”.  I do have the Japan version as well and used that in my Peppermint-Clove Lemon Salt Foot scrub.  Peppermint Japan Essential Oil  has a  “sharp, penetrating mint scent based on its high menthol content.”  It is a personal preference and you can use any peppermint oil

Here is what you need

I mixed this all together, but it was still a thick gel consistency. I put it into my small spritzer bottle, capped it and tried spraying it.  Nothing.  Too thick to come out.  I will have to wait until I get a bigger bottle as the one I used was a mini bottle and the current gel-mixture amounts was the perfect size for it. 

It needs more witch hazel to make it more of a liquid.   However, I can testify that this is very cooling and soothing.  I made a mess trying to put the gloop into the bottle, so it ran over the edges  and I put it on my arms and wow – it is nice and refreshing!!  I like this gel-mixture quite a bit, but I need to thin it out before I can call it a “mist”.  Perhaps another tablespoon of Witch Hazel will work.

This will also work as a cooling spray for your feet as well ~ and we all should know by now how I love to pamper my feet!!


The above picture is from when I dumped the final product into a glass jar, as to see it better.  The gloop looks like snot, doesn’t it?

Many, many thanks to Crunchy Betty  for publishing this DIY Peppermint Facial Mist.  Are you going to try this out?  Let me know if you got it to mist and if so, what was your aloe vera/witch hazel ratio?


One thought on “DIY Project: Peppermint Aloe-Vera Facial Spray Mist

Leave a Reply

