DIY Project: Coffee & Cardamon Body Scrub

I have had this huge package of Shea Butter that I received earlier this year from Eco-Emi.   I’ve been looking for things to make with it and I found this recipe from EssieButton’s blog  This is perfect as I do love the Fig + Yarrow Coffee Body Scrub and it is a bit expensive.  This scrub contains the spice cardamom, which is a very aromatic, smokey, resinous scent and you can pick this spice up in any supermarket.  Cardamon and coffee together lends to a very rich and wonderful scent ~ I love this, but it isn’t for everyone!

EssieButton didn’t give exact measurements, so I had to wing it a bit as well.  I did not use cocoa butter, but almond oil.   I will post her youtube video below, so you can watch her very informative tutorial. 

Here is what you need

  • 5 heaping tablespoons of Ground Coffee
  • 3/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 3 teaspoons of Ground Cardamom
  • A handful of Shea Butter
  • 3 teaspoons of Almond Oil (or you can use any oil you would like)

I first mixed all of the dry ingredients together in a bowl.  I took some Shea Butter, about a handful, and warmed it in my hands.  I added the Shea Butter to the bowl of dry ingredients and worked it all in ~ this step is VERY messy.  My last step was adding the Almond Oil and mixing that in thoroughly.

It smells lovely, just like the Fig + Yarrow scrub!  And it looks about the same as well ~ next time, maybe I will use a dark roast – lol

DIY Coffee &  Cardamom Body Scrub, Fig + Yarrow Coffee & Cardamom Body Scrub

How does it work?  I felt that my DIY scrub was a bit more moisturizing than the Fig + Yarrow.   The coffee and sugar grains were also larger in the DIY version, but really, for the price point, my DIY version works just as well and is more affordable.

  1. Fig + Yarrow Coffee Scrub
  2. DIY Coffee Scrub


Many, many thanks to EssieButton for publishing this DIY Coffee Scrub.  Are you going to try this scrub out?  Let me know in the comments how you did and if you made any enhancements/adjustments to the recipe!

You can pick up Shea Butter on, eBay and other online sites if you cannot find it locally.

Leave a Reply

