Unboxing September 2014 Petit Vour!

Petit Vour is an eco-friendly, cruelty-free beauty subscription.   This is my second month with them and I was really happy to learn that this month’s box is curated by #logicalharmony, who writes an award winning blog on vegan products and lifestyle.


The monthly subscription is $15.00.  If you are interested in joining Petit Vour, please use my referral link and say that Michele at beautyfindsforme.wordpress.com sent you!   This month’s theme is “Beauty and the Box”



Informational Card


Ellovi Tinted Lip Butter    This lip butter is made with only 6 ingredients: Macadamia Nut Oil, Coconut Oil, Sunflower Oil, Marula Oil, Shea Butter and Alkenet Root Extract.  Alkenet is a Mediterranean flower and its red root gives gives the lip balm its color.  This is a very sheer wash of color and it so soft and hydrating.  Full Size Value $5.00

Lily Lolo Mineral Eyeshadow in Cosmopolitan  The eye shadow color was the variation in this month’s box.  At first, I wasn’t thrilled with this color, as it is a matte dark olive brown.   However, the more I looked at it, the more possibilities I saw with it ~ using golden shimmers, dark plum sparkle, even using it alongside  hunter greens.   I don’t have a shade like this and at first, I was thinking “I want the sparkles! The fun colors, not some dirty brown color” lol  But it grew on me and I think this is a nice neutral that my “fun” colors can play nicely with.     Full Size Value $12.00

Ingredients: Vegan Friendly, Gluten Free. Mica (CI77019), Iron Oxide (CI77492), Ultramarine (CI77007), Iron Oxide (CI77499, CI77491). 

Swatches: (1) Ellovi Tinted Lip Balm (2) Lily Lolo in Cosmopolitan

Yarok Leave-In Conditioner  I have been a recent convert to leave in conditioners, since I get SO MANY of them.   However, I am very picky about the ones I will use as I have very fine, straight, oily hair.  I do blowdry my hair daily, so my ends of my hair could use some lovin’, even though they don’t have split ends or anything.  It is just the abuse from the heat.    I did a test patch on my arm to see how it felt and smelt ~ and OMG ~ lemon drops!! This smells like lemon drops😀   It also isn’t oily at all, just a light conditioner that will be good as a detangler.  Deluxe Size Value $9.90 (not sure where they got $13.20 from)

Product Description: Protect your ends with this nutritious, leave-in conditioner spray, packed with vitamins, minerals and essential oils that nourish hair prior to blow drying or heat styling. And join Yarok in helping protect one of the world’s greatest natural resources, the Amazon Rainforest. Safe for color-treated hair.

Directions: To protect from heat and add shine, spray on damp ends in even sections, then blow dry and style. When using to detangle, use all over damp hair, including ends.

Ingredients:  vitamin water,  jojoba oil*,  olive oil*,  grapeseed oil*,  apricot oil*,  evening primrose oil*,  fatty acids,  plant sourced xanthan gum/potassium sorbate,  essential oils of rosemary,  litsea cubeba. *Certified Organic  This product is gluten-free and vegan.

Root Science RS Youth Serum  This is the dud in the box for me and it was another variation as well.  So far, I’ve seen people get the serum, the scrub and the detox product.  I would have loved either the scrub or detox, but for some weird reason, I got the serum.  This is too rich, too oily for my oily skin.   I cannot use this at all.  I did email Petit Vour, because I had done a beauty survey and I am very sure I told them I had oily skin.  I wish beauty companies would not assume because of ones age, that the oil production in our faces has dried up.  If we state we have oily skin, please respect that we know our skin type…..  Oh well.  I am sure this is an excellent product, it just isn’t for me.   Deluxe Size Value $16.00

Ingredients: Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Oil*, Camellia Oleifera Seed Oil*, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Oil*, Adansonia Digitata (Baobab) Seed Oil*, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed*, Opuntia Ficus Indica (Prickly Pear) Seed Oil*, Punica Granatum (Pomegranate) Seed Oil*, Vaccinium Macrocarpon (Cranberry) Seed Oil*, Calophyllum inophyllum (Tamanu) Nut Oil*, Hippophae Rhamnoides (Sea Buckthorn CO2) Fruit Extract*, Rosa Canina (Rosehips) CO2 Total Extract*, Helichrysum Italicum (Helichrysum) Essential Oil*, Proprietary Blend of Organic and Wild Harvested Essential Oils, Non-GMO Tocopherol (Vitamin E). *Certified Organic **Naturally Sourced Cruelty Free and Vegan

I received a value of about $42.90 and I paid $15.00 for my box.   This is a really decent box ~ Two full sized products and two really nice deluxe sized products.  I really like the lip butter, it will make a nice change from non-tinted lip balms.  The eyeshadow color, whereas it isn’t the most exciting color in the world, is a good, solid color that will work well with golden and plum shimmery colors.   The Yarok smells lovely and just for the scent alone, I will use it ~ haha.  The only “dud” for me was the serum.  It is too heavy for my skin type, despite the claim that all skin types can use it.  I really wanted the facial scrub, but thems’ the breaks.  Once again, the most expensive item in my box ~ totally unsuitable for me.

The sizes in this month’s box were nice ~ I hope they will continue with these larger sizes.

Did you get the September’s Petit Vour box?  What was your favorite item? 


[ description in italics come from the product’s linked webpage ]

5 thoughts on “Unboxing September 2014 Petit Vour!

  1. With Petit Vour, everyone gets the same thing in every box so any survey questions would be irrelevant. I don’t remember doing any survey questions with them, but I could be wrong. I know everyone gets the same though.


    1. I wish there was an edit button. I didn’t realize they sent variations on their products. I guess I learned something knew. I’ll quit rambling on now.🙂


Leave a Reply

