Unboxing September 2014 Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet!

This is my second  Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet bag for the month of September 2014  For those who are not aware of what Notoriously Morbid is, they are an indie beauty company, specializing in eyeshadows and lippies, and it is $12.90 a month.  It is a really new subscription and slots are very limited.   Every month, more slots are availabe, so follow their facebook page and also their facebook group to learn more about deals and when new collections are available!

About Notoriously Morbid ~ from their Facebook About Page:

Notoriously Morbid offers a line of indie eye-shadows and other cosmetics that cater to those morbid at heart. 
Description: With our unique collection of themed eye-shadows, everyone is bound to find something that teases the darkness within.


This month’s theme is Dark Cheshire

image from http://www.notoriouslymorbid.com/

Welcome to the third Vanishing Cabinet collection, Dark Cheshire.  As they say, “you can judge a man by what films they know Tim Curry from” but what if you know all of them?  This little collection was planned as soon as we knew we were doing a sub type service.  How can you not have a Tim Curry collection? He is known for his dark, witty roles and we did not want to go with the obvious choice, as a matter of fact, Hellava Lover was not going to happen  but it just didn’t feel right without it.  We hope you enjoy this collection and we were pleased to have /AFK Cosmetics as a special guest this month.

The box revealed!!  From bottom left,  going clockwise

Officer Friendly  VC always contains a “sneak peek” into next month’s collection.  Well, I know what this is.  The Walking Dead – Rick is “Officer Friendly” according to the late, great Merle Dixon.  This is a wonderful medium cocoa brown with bronze flashes.   “You’re cold as ice, Officer Friendly”  ~ Merle Dixon, TWD

 Ingredients: Mica, Titanium Dioxide,  Iron Oxide,  Ferric Ferrocyanide, Magnesium stearate. *Vegan/NOT Lip Safe*

/AFK Cosmetics Toxic Love This is a really pretty dusty purple color with lots of shimmers.

Ingredients: Mica, titanium dioxide, ferric ferrocyanide, iron oxide, carnauba wax.*Vegan*

Helluva Lover  Lip Gloss.  I am not opening this or swatching it.  Based on other reviews, this is a highly pigmented, bright red lip gloss.   I do not like red lip glosses in bright red tones.   However, if you do, the reviews on this are excellent!   I’m not much of a man by the light of day, but by night I’m one hell of a lover”  ~ Dr. Frank-N-Furter,  The Rocky Horror Picture Show

Ingredients: Hydrogenated Polyisobutene (and) Ethylene/Propylene/Styrene Copolymer (and) Butylene/Ethylene/Styrene Copolymer, Carmine, Red #33. *NOT Vegan*

Once Upon a Purple Moon  This is a very pretty bright rose color.   I will use this as a blush color.  Once in a purple moon, there is a special young witch who shines above the rest. Often she goes unnoticed, because she is always out of step.”  ~ The Grand Wizard, The Worst Witch

Ingredients: mica, titanium dioxide, tin oxide, lauroyl lysine, boron nitride, boron oxide, iron oxide.  *Vegan Lip Safe*

Solace of Shadows  This is, to me at least, an dark oak brown with plummy tones and gold shimmers.  “I require the solace of the shadows and the dark of the night. Sunshine is my destroyer!”  The Lord of Darkness, Legend (a very underrated flick, btw)

Ingredients: titanium dioxide, mica, magnesium stearate, tin dioxide, lauroyl lysine, iron oxide. *Vegan Lip Safe*

Wadsworth  This is a copper brown color with flashes of green – perfect for autumn; it reminds me of turning maple leaves in the fall.   “And monkey’s brains, though popular in Cantonese cuisine, are not often to be found in Washington D.C.. ”  ~ Wadsworth,  Clue

Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide, Tin Oxide, Silica,mica, magnesium stearate, carnauba wax, iron oxide, carmine.. *Vegan/NOT lip safe*

They All Float  A frosty white with pink shimmers….One of the damn scariest clowns out there EVER.  Tim Curry nailed it in Stephen King’s IT.  “BEEP BEEP Richie! They ALL float down here. When you’re down here with us, you’ll float too!”  Pennywise the Clown, IT

Ingredients: titanium dioxide, tin oxide, silica, mica, magnesium stearate, lauroyl lysine, synthetic flurophylogopite, calcium sodium borosilicate. *Vegan/Lip safe*


From left to right, with flash:  Wadsworth, Solace of Shadows, They All Float, Under a Purple Moon, Officer Friendly, Toxic Love

This was a great collection and also honoring one of the most underrated actors, Tim Curry.  I had the great privilege to get his autograph when I saw him in the play  “Me and My Girl” in Los Angles in the late 1980’s.

Do you subscribe to Notoriously Morbid’s Vanishing Cabinet?  What did you think of this month’s collection and do you have a favorite?

Edited to add:  I did open up Helluva Lover and used a Q-tip to grab a bit of the color.  It is bright red on me. 

 [ descriptions in italics from http://www.notoriouslymorbid.com/ ]

8 thoughts on “Unboxing September 2014 Notoriously Morbid Vanishing Cabinet!

  1. I am waiting for mine to arrive in the mail. Takes a few more days for Canada….

    I wish they would do some mattes in the next VC…. I love me some glitter and shimmer, FAVS, but I even can admit a need to balance things out. I am so excited to try that gloss though.. the lip tint last month was amazing! I am all about a good lip product and because I have really pigmented lips to begin with I always love a good red/berry.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I saw! Was going to order Friday, but work got so hectic I didn’t get to go home for lunch. I wanted to take advantage of the free Friday. I’ll just have to wait for the next one, which is fine because my friend ordered all the Slay Me 3 and the Winchester Gospels. I will probably buy the other three tints as well. Friend picked up strawberry so we will see how that is. Then ill order haha


  2. the lip gloss is NOT bright red, or at least, mine isn’t. It’s a burgundy/ berry dark deep color. Swatch it.
    It is SO dark, it left a lot of dark stain on my hand. You may be really happy with it. I don’t have another color like this!! I love it.🙂


    1. It is bright red for me – I used a Q-tip to grab a bit of it (after deciding to give it a chance) and it was not a dark color, but bright red. These types of colors always dry down to a vivid bright cherry color on me. It looks very dark in the container, but on me, it is bright red. I’ve also seen other people’s photos with this color on, and it is a bright red on them as well, with the exception of one lady, who had darker pigmented lips (I don’t not have dark pigmented lips, alas). The following photo is from NM’s instagram site and this is how it renders for me as well. It would need more plum or brown in it to be wearable for me. Otherwise, I have bright cherry red stained lips😦 Shame, because it is so highly pigmented. Maybe next month they will do a more vampy color.


Leave a Reply

