Unboxing September 2014 Gourmet Body Treats

Gourmet Body Treats has awesome products and I love trying new eco-friendly beauty items as well.  They specialize in vegan, cruelty free, GMO free and gluten free beauty products, plus they are free-trade!

Here is a little bit about their monthly service:

The Monthly Beauty Box has Arrived!

For only $19.95 month (shipping included) we will be sending you a GBT beauty box with 2-3 exciting full size products and 4-5 samples to try some of our new and innovative products. You will receive over $50 dollars worth of our cosmetics and beauty wellness products.  We want you to enjoy every monthly gift box so we’re going to include our signature classics as well as some new limited edition releases. These boxes will be fabulous, so find out for yourself today! Your subscription to our monthly gift box collection gives you access to:

• 2-3 Full size products + 4-5 Samples

• First sneak peak access to our new limited edition products

• Free shipping in all 50 US states

• Your membership includes 30% off any product at Gourmetbodytreats.com while your subscription is active

• Membership gives you access to exclusive add-ons and monthly Secret Store products, available only to members

Your membership will be billed monthly starting from the day you sign up unless you cancel by phone or email prior to our ship date

  • USA: $19.95 includes shipping
  • Canada: $32.95 includes shipping
  • International: $38.95 includes shipping



The box revealed!!


Starting from the lower left and going clockwise:

Organic Keratin Conditioner  This is a leave in conditioner treatment for dry and damaged hair.  I do not have dry or damaged hair, so I will trade/gift this item.  I will not use products that are unsuitable for my skin or hair type.   Deluxe Size Retail $10.00

This organic keratin conditioner is a non oily vitamin rich leave in hair conditioner infused with plant proteins and amino acids, that are the building blocks for healthy hair. Great for everyday use to protect the hair from environmental stress such as wind or sun. Safe for color treated hair. Spray onto hair and leave in, do not rinse out.

Ingredients: Quinoa Protein, Organic Aloe Vera Gel, Vitamin B-5, Flax Oil, Beet Extract, Green Coffee oil, Green Tea Extract, Olive Leaf Extract, Witch Hazel Extract, Aspen Bark Extract, Organic Rosemary Hydrosol, Oat Protein

Plumping Lip Gloss  This is their featured item in the box, GBT markets it as a spicy plumping lip gloss.  I did try this on and either I got a defective item or spicy is in the eyes of the beholder.  This is just a very slick clear lipgloss.  I am not impressed with its “plumping” action, as there is no spicy, tingling feeling that you would get with a lip plumper gloss.   It did absolutely nothing for my lips except give a really oily shine.   Full Size .14 oz Retail $19.00

This plumping lips gloss has a spicy, tingly sensation after it is applied. This plumping lip gloss enhances the natural color and shape of the lips by increasing circulation with a blend of essential oils including cinnamon and orange.

Ingredients: Ricinus Communis (Organic Castor) Seed Oil, Copernicia Cerifera (Organic Carnauba) Wax, Carthamus Tinctorius (Organic Safflower) Seed Oil, Glycerin (Vegetable derived), Alkanna Tinctoria (Alkanet) Root Extract, Cinnamomum Zeylanicum (Organic cinnamon) Leaf oil, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Organic Orange) Peel Oil, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Oil, Eugenia Caryophyllus (Clove) Flower Oil, Hibiscus sabdariffa (Organic Hibiscus) Extract

GBT Natural Eye Shadow  I’ve used their eyeshadows before and I got the small sample of chiffon, which is a very pale  matte neutral color, like a creamy-pink.   Not really exciting, but it will be used.  Sample Size Retail $4.00

GBT Natural Eyeshadow matte are the perfect mineral shadows that can be used as eyeshadows or eyeliners either wet or dry. Great for sensitive skin and contact lens wearers. Pure concentrated color won’t wear off and stays put all day and is waterproof.

Ingredients:  Mica, Organic Arrowroot powder, may contain titanium dioxide or iron oxide

Vanilla Mint Shampoo  I was really excited to see this after the first 3 sad offerings.   I opened it up and it smells so wonderful ~ vanilla mint indeed!!   I did try it out and it is SO watery and thin.   I used the whole 2 ounces for one washing on my chin-length hair because it was so watery.  Oy.   Deluxe Size 2 oz Retail $10.00

Ingredients:  Organic Chamomile Hydrosol, Water, Decylglucoside, Olive Squalene, CoQ10, Organic Lemongrass EO, Organic Peppermint EO. Organic Argan Oil, Xanthum Gum, Gluconolactone

GBT Clarifying Serum  This serum isn’t on their website. I like this serum, it is light and pleasant on the skin.  However, this is a tiny sample, so I do not think this is enough for me to find out what it is supposed to do.   Sample Size Retail $3.00 

Ingredients: Pantothenic Acid (Vitamin B-5), Vitamin A, Blue Tansy EO, Vegetable Glycerin, Olive Leaf Extract, Olive squalene, Willowbark Extract, Chamomile Extract, Neem Extract,  Oat protein

Vegan Eye Pencil IN BLACKCTHULLHU!!!

image from http://blog.flametreepublishing.com/Portals/293166/images/gothic%20dreams%20cthulhu%20the%20chase.jpg

I have received black eyeliners up the ass for the last few months.   I got one in a Memebox,  last month’s Petit Vour, last month’s Starlooks ~ a least that was a liquid eyeliner, this month’s Birchbox, my L’Oreal gift comp for a survey I did the other month and not to mention other black eyeliners I have received in the last SIX months.  PLEASE ~ stop sending BLACK PENCIL EYELINERS.    Do some colors ~ a bronze, a pewter, I would even take a RED eyeliner just to shake things up.   At least the Memebox one had glitters in it and Starlooks gave a liquid eyeliner.  Black pencil eyeliners – so boring and everyone has one.     GBT has liquid eyeliners for the same price, that would have been preferable.  Full Size $29.00

Gourmet Body Treats vegan eye pencil is completely free of questionable ingredients such as carmine, lakes, dyes, and “hidden” synthetics. These liners are handcrafted individually with cold-pressed plant waxes and oils and specially formulated natural pigment blends. Pencil form for easy use.

Ingredients: Simmondsia Chinensis (Organic Jojoba) Seed Oil, Ricinus Communis (Organic Castor) Seed Oil, Copernicia Cerifera (Organic Carnauba) Wax, Carthamus Tinctorius (Organic Safflower) Seed Oil, Cocos Nucifera (Organic Coconut) Oil, Mica, Iron Oxides


I was very disappointed this month’s box.  The plumping lip gloss was just another clear gloss with no taste or spicy feeling as advertised, the shampoo smelled lovely, but was so watery,  a black pencil eyeliner (gagh), a conditioner that is not suited for my hair type.   The serum and eyeshadow were nice, but those were the tiny samples.    I will see what October brings and determine if I wish to stay subscribed.  I do not feel that having only have 2 small samples that are usable  is enough for me to stay on long term.    The other complaint I have is that the monthly coupons never work for me ~ it always tells me it is invalid.

Did you get Gourmet Body Treats this month?  What was your impression and which is your favorite product?

[ descriptions in italics from http://gourmetbodytreats.com ]

The Cthulhu image is from  The Chase by Douglas A. Sirois.  Image is  © 2013 Erik von Wodtke, Douglas A. Sirois and Markosia Enterprises, Ltd. Used in Apollo by Erik von Wodtke, Douglas A. Sirois. Published by Markosia Enterprises Ltd 2013.

9 thoughts on “Unboxing September 2014 Gourmet Body Treats

  1. That box looks yummy!!! – I like the packaging of the eyeshadow🙂 32.95$ a month is damn pricy (to Canada) I would order this box in a heartbeat if it wasn’t so expensive to Canada.


    1. the actual plastic container is a beast to open. I had to transfer it into a baggie because it was so difficult to open. This box was not that great. The products *looked* fantastic, but once I used them, it was not good.


  2. Not sure if you’re old enough to remember Paula Begoun’s first book ” Blue Eyeshadow Should Be Illegal”.
    She needs to do one on black eyeliners and bright red lipstick and nails because I am so sick of these items in my sub boxes I could cry. ( Orange lipstick from the Memeboxes is also getting on my last nerve!!)

    With that out of the way, this is a puny box. Mine isn’t here yet and I don’t even want to open it- want to mark it ” Recipient died- Return to Sender”. Kind of like your sea monster image there. It’s a huge bete’ noir. ( black beast).

    There’s nothing remotely useful or exciting or innovative. I’m cancelling MBTs. 3 months of boring is 2 months too many for the price. Petit Vour got the boot last month for the same reason. Organic natural beauty products are the most BORING and UNIMAGINATIVE products in the beauty world.

    The one thing worth having is the SERUM and they knew that- so they gave the least amount of product possible it appears. I don’t like this company any longer!!!


  3. I was going to sign up…I’m glad I read your reviews first!! I like to say “thank you” for being honest with your reviews. Some bloggers seem to be kissing “you know what” when they write reviews. I guess some do that to keep getting free boxes. You do an awesome job!


    1. thank you! I am just sad about this month’s box from GBT. I love their eyeshadow but I have not been that impressed by the other products that much. The foot scrub is amazing, but that has been it so far for me. I pay for all of my boxes with the exception of 2 boxes (out of all of the ones I have reviewed here) and I made sure everyone knew that.


Leave a Reply

