Unboxing September 2014 BirchBox

It has been a year since my last Birchbox review!!  I had quit Birchbox a year ago, because it was becoming the foil subscription box for me and I wanted to try new things (and boy, did I ever!)

A couple of months ago, I dipped my toes back into the Birchbox waters as I noticed that people were getting better boxes.  I changed up my profile completely as my needs had changed and I was pleased with the results. In fact,  August gave me a box that not one item was a dud!!

I’ve decided to stay with BB for a while and see what happens; so I am starting my reviews again.  This month was another “pick a sample” month ~ Birchbox has for the last 3 boxes allowed members to pick a sample out of a few choices ~ and I picked the Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate sample.

My Box Revealed!

From left to right

Noir Cosmetics Long Wear Eyeliner in BLACK.   Sigh.  A black pencil eyeliner.  SMH at the epic failure of subscription boxes who insist on sending out stupid pencil BLACK eyeliners.   For the love of Cthulhu, subscription boxes have to get a clue on this one.  You are supposed to be pushing our boundaries with new products, not giving us boring black eyeliners and red lipsticks.   A liquid black eyeliner would have been preferable.   I am sure this is a great eyeliner, but I won’t use it.  Off into the gift/trade pile it goes.

What:  Enriched with vitamin E, this creamy, waterproof liner glides on smoothly for all day wear. 

How: Gently trace your lash line with the velvety formula

Ingredients: Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499), Mica (Ci 77019), Ferric Ferrocyanide (Ci 77510), Cyclopentasiloxane, Paraffin, C11-12 Isoparaffin, Polybutene, Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Ceresin, Ozokerite, Microcrystalline Wax, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate

Shiseido Ultimune Power Infusing Concentrate  This is really nice ~ I mean really nice.  I own a couple of Shiseido products and this is on my wishlist now to purchase.  It is a booster and it is very light, absorbs quickly into the skin.  It smells AMAZING too.  At $65.00 for a full size, I now know what I will be saving my Birchbox points for…this guy.

What: Enhances skin’s defensive power against signs of aging for a radiant complexion

How: Morning and night, apply to clean face before serum and moisturizer to boost results

Ingredients: water (aqua)・sd alcohol 40-b (alcohol denat.)・glycerin・ dimethicone・butylene glycol・peg/ppg-17/4 dimethyl ether・ triethylhexanoin・ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/beheneth-25 methacrylate crosspolymer・phenoxyethanol・peg-14m・methylparaben・ tocopheryl acetate・peg/ppg-14/7 dimethyl ether・rosa damascena flower water・acrylates/c10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer・fragrance (parfum) ・disodium edta・potassium hydroxide・silica・isoceteth-10・linalool・ginkgo biloba leaf extract (ginkgo biloba)・geraniol・citronellol・sodium carboxymethyl beta-glucan・bht・thymus serpillum extract・perilla ocymoides leaf extract・sodium bicarbonate

TEMPTU S/B Highlighter in Champagne Shimmer  Originally, when I saw I was getting this, I felt the way about this highlighter as I did the eye pencil.  However, this is not champagne ~ this is a beautiful rose-bronze color and I will use it as an highlighter eyeshadow.   It is a very pretty color and a little goes a long way. 

What:  Liquid shimmer that illuminates and contours your complexion or gives an all-over glow

How: Dab and blend on apples of cheeks, brow bones, Cupid’s bow or anywhere else you’d like

Ingredients: water, decamethyl cyclopentasiloxane, butylene glycol, cyclomethicone, glyceryl dibehenate, sodium chloride, trimethylsiloxysiloxysilicate, dimethicone copolyol, silica, pluthethylene, polysorboate 80, triethoxy caprylylsilane, phenoxyethanol, methylparabel, propylparaben, ethylparaben, butylparaben, isobutylparaben. may contain: mica, titanium dioxide, c177491, c177492, c177499, and chromium green oxides

With Flash:  Swatch of TEMPTU S/B Highlighter in “Champagne Shimmer”

Tocca Crema da Mano – Bianca  Oh I love a hand cream (crema da mano ~ my Italian is thin, but I know what that means – lol).  This is the scent I really wanted to try ~ a lovely lemon scent!  This is paraben free.

What: Loaded with natural oils, this green tea and lemon lotion absorbs in a flash

Ingredients: Aqua/Water/Eau, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Vegetable Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, Polysorbate 60, Phenoxyethanol, Isocetyl Stearate, Steareth-2, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Carbomer, Ethylhexylglycerin, Parfum, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Persea Gratissima (Avocado) Oil, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Limonene, BHT, Hexyl Cinnamal, Amyl Cinnamal, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Sodium Hyaluronate, Benzyl Benzoate, Linalool, Olea Europaea Leaf Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Alcohol, Citral, Benzyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Punica Granatum Extract.

Juliette Has A Gun Lady Vengeance  I am very picky about my perfumes, which is why I ask BB not to send them to me more than 6 times a year.  I guess it is that time for me to get one.   This has rose in it, so nope, not going to try this one out.   If they only left out the rose, I would have probably loved it.  Gift/trade pile

What: Rose, patchouli and vanilla make for an earthy, elegant blend with a hint of spice.

How did September’s Birchbox stack up for me?  Well, I was very happy with the Shiseido and Tocca products and the TEMPTU highlighter was the surprise hit for me.  Black pencil eyeliners and perfumes usually do not fair well with me, so I guess 3 out of 5 ain’t bad.

Do you subscribe to Birchbox?  What did you get this month and what was your favorite item?

If you want to subscribe to Birchbox, I would love it if you used my referral link   https://www.birchbox.com/invite/biancardi

[ descriptions in italics from birchbox.com and product websites ]

2 thoughts on “Unboxing September 2014 BirchBox

  1. I also switched my profile around and found I got better boxes! I’ve been very happy with my boxes since I did that. I also choose not to get perfume (only 6 times a year which is half of my boxes and not a super good percentage). I got one this time, too. Tommy girl. Which I used to wear when I was in high school when it first came out in 1995 or whenever. After reading your comments, I’m much more excited about the highlighter than I was when I saw it on my dashboard.


Leave a Reply

