DIY Sugar Lip Scrub

I love sugar lib scrubs.  I have purchased many of them over the years and now I decided to make my own.  I use a lot of it, and I like to try out different flavors, so it makes sense economically.  I also love how easy it is to make.

What you will need:

  • Coconut Oil
  • Sugar
  • Flavored extract of your choice:  almond, vanilla, mint, orange, etc.
  • A small container.  I save my small 1 oz jars for this purpose.


Step 1:  Add 2 tablespoons of sugar to your jar


Step 2:  Add 1 1/2 teaspoons of coconut oil to the sugar


Step 3:  Add 1/4 teaspoon flavored extract


Step 4:  Mix well. You might need to add a little bit more oil or sugar to get the consistency that you want. Store in a cool place.


I am using extracts and not essential oils for in this scrub.  Most DIY Sugar lip scrubs use the essential oils which is great for the scent – but not for flavor.  Since this is going on my lips, I want to taste the flavor.

I am not adding honey, but if you wanted to add honey, you can replace a bit of the coconut oil with honey.

Coconut Oil properties: 

  • strengthens underlying tissue
  • removes excessive dead skin cells
  • antibacterial, antiviral and anti-fungal
  • contains antioxidants that help skin cell regeneration
  • beneficial moisturizer

Sugar Cane properties:

  • abrasive enough to help remove dead skin cells and other impurities
  • aids the coconut oil to moisturize and renew

Do you make your own sugar lip scrub?  What type of recipe do you use?  What flavorings do you add?

5 thoughts on “DIY Sugar Lip Scrub

    1. thank you!! I use lip scrubs all the time and I didn’t think I would find the “homemade” version to be as good. I find that I like my version better than the purchased ones! I am going to start experimenting with things like cocoa powder and adding that in, for a nice chocolate taste🙂

      Have you posted a recipe for your lip balm? I would be interested in reading it. Let me know!! thank you


Leave a Reply

